Jamie Oliver & Me

I can never get sick of this guy, even when living in the UK and finding his baby face noggin across British telly almost every day – I just wanted to take in more and more of whatever it is he was cooking.

I don’t have a lot of confidence in the kitchen – keeping it real, I don’t have any confidence in the kitchen.  I have said it before and I will say it again – I cook because family services will take my kids away if I don’t feed them EVERY.SINGLE.DAY!

I have no imagination, no idea, no creative juices, and no clue when bringing flavours and foods together.  I very rarely deviate from a recipe and always did a mad panic when I am missing an ingredient (never thought to substitute, it didn’t cross my mind)

As for entertaining, I would never ever consider it unless it involved the outdoors, a BBQ, warm weather, and an extremely casual atmosphere – happy to say that did begin to change when I was introduced to Jamie Oliver.

Happy Days CookbookI think it was his Happy Days cookbook when I had that “aha” moment .  I had bought the cookbook for my hubby back in 2008 thinking I would motivate him to take charge in the kitchen.  When that didn’t happen, I decided to flick through the pages and see what the Jamie hype was all about.

Oh My Goodness, someone had finally given me permission to make simple foods and simple cooking apart of my everyday meal rotation and incorporate that style of cooking when entertaining friends and hubby’s business associates.

For the longest time I thought I was suppose to be plating up restaurant quality meals. I could never achieve that and even if I tried I could never sustain it over and over again.  I am a ‘slap & see’ type of chick – you know, as in, slap something together and see what happens.

His recipes are mad, as in mad good – The ingredients he lists I.KNOW.WHAT.MOST.OF.THEM.ARE whoop whoop. When he talks measurements he says things like a sprinkle, a pinch, a dab, a handful, a shake – stuff that makes sense to me. He makes suggestions to try substitutes maybe you don’t have something on hand, or perhaps it’s not a food you or the family likes.  I know this sounds really basic for some, but to me I never thought to be creative with recipes – I figured a fancy television chef person had done all the hard work to tell me what went with what so that’s how it was suppose to be prepared. Sad I know.

Today I am still following along with many different recipes Jamie Oliver has published and I am absolutely loving his new approach to carrying on the conversation about reducing sugar from our food choices.

On telly here in Australia he has premiered a new cooking show called Jamie’s Super Food. I watched the first episode and couldn’t wait to make his Cheese & Corn Pancakes, with a side of bacon & banana YUM!

I have the recipe below (taken direct from his website) Give it a go when you can it will not disappoint. The pic below is how my first effort turned out. Not bad, hey!!!

Cheese Corn Pancakes


Ingredients

  • 1 x 340 g tin of sweetcorn
  • 6 spring onions
  • 1 fresh red chilli
  • 2 large free-range eggs
  • 200 g cottage cheese
  • 150 g wholemeal self-raising flour (I used white – didn’t have wholemeal)
  • 50 ml semi-skimmed milk (I prefer full fat)
  • olive oil
  • 4 rashers of higher-welfare smoked streaky bacon
  • 4 small bananas
  • Tabasco jalapeño sauce , optional

Method

Tip the sweetcorn into a bowl, juice and all. Trim the spring onions and finely slice with the chilli (deseed if you like), then add to the bowl along with the eggs, cottage cheese and flour. Mix together, then gradually loosen with the milk to a thick but oozy batter. Lightly season with sea salt and black pepper.

I like to cook and serve 2 pancakes at a time so each person gets a lovely hot plate of food. Put a large non-stick frying pan on a medium heat and wipe with a piece of oiled kitchen paper. Place 1 rasher of bacon in the pan and as soon as it starts to release its smoky fat, wiggle that around the pan. Add 2 small ladles of batter to one side and flatten them slightly. Peel 1 banana and cut into four chunky slices at an angle. Add them to the pan to caramelise, turning when golden. Once the pancakes are golden on the bottom, flip them over to cook on the other side. Finessing your temperature control so that everything is ready at the same time is an art – just tweak the temperature to help you out until you get your groove.

Get your first lucky customer seated at the table and serve their pancakes with the banana, bacon and Tabasco (I’m loving the green jalapeño one here) for drizzling, if they fancy it, while you crack on with the next portion.

Good Luck!

 

“The world as we have created it is a process of our thinking. It cannot be changed without changing our thinking.”– Albert Einstein

2 thoughts on “Jamie Oliver & Me

  1. Sarah Lawson says:

    Looks delicious Denise – I think I’
    ll be asking for that book for Christmas. Really glad to see you’re blogging again – your video of the girls in the restaurant (Yes!) made me cry more than a bit! Hope you’re all well and loving life – Thermo Sarah xxx

    Like

    • ThePetiteApple says:

      So great to hear from you Sarah! Every time I see the video I still cry. Hope Thermo life is being kind to you, I really enjoy having a Thermomix in our life – so many simple changes and it allows us as a family to get back to basic food choices minus the ugly stuff mixed up in our processed foods. It actually makes going out for meals a little tricky. xxx Denise

      Like

Comments Anyone ?

